Saudade

Hey. I miss you.

“Have you ever missed someone you’ve never met?”

I have heard this several people asking this question, but by “people” I mean soon-to-be mothers on TV dramas. I have the same question in my head now, and no, before anyone asked, I’m nowhere near those figures on the said TV dramas.

There are like a gazillion people in this whole wide world.
What if someone meant to be for you is somewhere, half a world away?
And you’ve never met this person.
Maybe you will never meet this person.

A bit sad, don’t you think?

I stumbled upon the word “saudade” a few months ago.
According to Wikipedia:

Saudade is a word in Portuguese and Galician (from which it entered Spanish) that claims no direct translation in English. In Portuguese, “Tenho saudades tuas” (European Portuguese) or “Tenho saudades de você” (Brazilian Portuguese), translates as “I have (feel) saudade of you” meaning “I miss you”, but carries a much stronger tone.

Might have an idea on why this word is now stuck in my head, but that’s not anything I would say out loud for the time being. It’s a melancholic word, a poetic one – something that’s not easily translated. I asked a native Portuguese about this word and he spent a good 5-minute just trying to explain it to me (thanks man).

It’s more to something nostalgic.

Now back to the original questions.
Is it possible to feel nostalgic about something you’ve never experienced?
Have you ever feel like missing something without knowing what it is you’re actually missing?

A recent movie by Makoto Shinkai called “Kimi no na wa” (“Your name”) is asking the same thing several times when I watched it. It’s a feeling you can’t explain, not a bad one, but the one reminding you of something that you might have never had.

Have you felt it before?
Or do you think this is just another mad ramble?

I have.
I still do.

Hey. I miss you.
I know, I miss you too.

 

Leave a Reply

