Daily Prompt: Feed Your Senses

Prompt from here.
For one of the only two smokers in my life I actually like to have around.

I’ve always hated the smell of cigarette smoke.
I
t reeks of desperation; of people running away or people looking for a distraction. It reeks of weakness – something I don’t approve in most people.

Yet in the old car I drove that warm afternoon, it was the only scent I sensed from the person sitting right to me.

I glanced aside at the tall figure wrapped in a loose tee, looking very much different than how I usually see him. He looked his age without the why-so-serious blazer and shirt. The new haircut suited him better. Taking a deep breath, I looked back at the empty road with an obligatory smile.

‘You don’t look like a person who smoked.’

It wasn’t really a proper thing you can comment on someone you just knew for less than a month, but he was in my car – and my car doesn’t usually transport smokers. I just need a reason. Providing he could give me a good one, I should be able to handle it for another while. But he merely laughed a little.

‘Why?’

From the corner of my eye, I realised he was looking the other way. Apparently the asphalt and the pots of dying greens were more interesting than my comment.

I shrugged. ‘You look more like a good and healthy kind of guy.’

He chuckled, this time propping his elbow on the windowsill and turned to look at me. I kept my eyes on the road. No reply still, but he seemed to be thinking of one. I allowed him some time, but even after fifteen minutes there was no explanation.

He hadn’t given me any reason up until now.

I’ve always hated the smell of cigarette smoke.
It reeks of desperation; of people running away or people looking for a distraction. It reeks of weakness – something I don’t approve in most people.

Yet I find myself sitting in the driver’s seat, tolerating the now-all-too-familiar scent from the seat next to me every now and then – all the while questioning myself why I let this one in.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Feed Your Senses

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Fortyoneteen – “Sensual Senses” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: Act 3, Scene 1: Scent | Romance Without Words

  3. Pingback: C10.H14.N2 | A Hedonistic Wander

Leave a Reply

