Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Go

Prompt from here.

Hullo.
Hey.

How are you?
Fine. You?

Good.
Good.

What are you up to now?
Work.

The kids?
They’re fine.

You keep saying that.
What?

Fine.
So?

Fine stands for –
Freaked out, insecure, neurotic, emotional – I know…

I’ve taught you well.
Indeed you have.

So?
So what?

Admit it, we’re running out of things to talk about.
So?

So there will be a day when we meet and just nod at each other because of it.
Is that what you want?

It’s a possibility.
Possibility.

Yep.
So even you’re not sure of it.

Stop shooting my own words at me.
You asked for it.

I’m only concerned.
About what?

About us.

Don’t you?


Please say something.

Alright, forget what-
Hey.

Yeah?
Why do you talk to me?

Why?
Yeah, why?

Well, we’re kind of going out…
That’s it?

Don’t get all sensitive.
I’m not.

You are.
You brought this up.

I did.
Why?

I just want to make sure.
Of…?

How would you react if I said we should end this.

Well?
….

Don’t cry.
I’m not.

I know, I’m just kidding.
It’s not funny.

I’m not kidding about us ending this kind of thing.
Is that what you want?

Yes.
Can I ask?

Yeah.
Why?

I don’t want to be your boyfriend anymore.
Why?

I’m a big failure at it.
You do realise that I don’t care?

You don’t?
No.

So you don’t want me to learn?
Learn what?

How to be a good husband?
…what?


Don’t stare at me like I’m mad.
You sound mad.

I’m not. You of all people should know it.
What are you saying?

Well, little miss dense, marry me already.

You’re smiling, aren’t you?
Shut it.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Go

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Go or Maybe | My Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set Go | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

Leave a Reply

