Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight

Prompt from here.
Had fun writing this one~
A short fic!
Enjoy.

Out of all the things I could’ve had, this one chose to happen today.

Doubt has always been my friend ever since I knew it.
It hasn’t been the best one, but it’s always there in the times of importance.
My dear, dear friend.

Like when I was ten.
The white tutu was on.
And the spotlights were, too.
Every parent’s eyes were on me.
Flight or flight?
My dear friend said, Flee!
I didn’t listen.
I fought.
I lost.

Or when I was eighteen.
The dresses, the suits, and the make-believe crown.
The sash – oh, the damned sash.
Every audience’s eyes were on me.
Fight or flight?
My dear friend said, Flee!
I didn’t listen.
I fought.
I lost.

Now it’s here again.
Now, even when I’m twenty-six.
The grand white dress, the pristine aisle, and the diamond ring.
And the love of my life, I think.
Every guest’s eyes were on me.
Fight on flight?
My friend said, Flee!
This time, I listened.

“I do… not.”

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight

      • Lol! Ah, man. Now I have that song playing in my head. :-P But yes, I think living through your experience would help you understand Julia’s character in Runaway Bride more than the average viewer. Check that movie out again if you ever get the chance ^_^

Leave a Reply

