Dead Poets Society

Nothing in this post is mine.
And this movie is still one of the best I’ve ever watched in my life.

So.
Dead Poets Society.

If you have never watched this before, your life in incomplete.
And you haven’t seen the best of Robin WIlliams.

That might also mean you’ve been yelling out “Carpe Diem” without knowing know the phrase became popular among the usually-ignorant people like me.

And…
Six words for fellow House fans: Robert Sean Leonard. The 1998 version.

So I present to you… John Keating.

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute.
We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race,
and the human race is filled with passion.
And medicine, law, business, engineering,
these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life.
But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for.”

Admit it.
Words and ideas do change the world.

Next.
From the whole movie, this is one of my favourite scene.

This one features Todd Anderson, who came up with nil assignment and ended up with a dramatic poem. Here’s where he grew up and started to think for himself, which might as well be the whole movie in a nutshell, I think.

“I close my eyes
And this image floats beside me
A sweaty-toothed madman
With a stare that pounds my brain
His hands reach out and choke me
And all the time he’s mumbling
Mumbling truth
Truth like a blanket that always leaves your feet cold
You push it, stretch it, it’ll never be enough
You kick at it, beat it, it’ll never cover any of us
From the moment we enter crying
To the moment we leave dying
It’ll just cover your face
as you wail and cry and scream.”

Last but not least.

“Carpe Diem.
Seize the day, boys.
Make your lives extraordinary.”

To be honest, I take it seriously these days.
Someone Up There has been kind, giving me all the opportunities in the world.
I’m seizing it.

Are you?

Leave a Reply

