Daily Prompt: IMHO – Skyfall

Prompt from here.
News selected is this one, which is of course…

Who hasn’t watched the latest Bond movie?
I mean, come on, people.

It has Daniel Craig, Javier Bardem, Judi Dench, Ben Whishaw, andĀ Voldemort Ralph Fiennes. Could you ask for a more epic casts from the mighty Queen’s reign?

Ever since Craig became Bond, the character changed quite a lot for me.
James Bond is now less of a womaniser and more of a man of action.
He is more… human.

He’s getting old in a sense of sticking to the old ways of espionage.
This is explicitly shown by featuring the brand new quartermaster – Q, starring Ben Whishaw – who, as Bond claimed, still “has spots on his face”.

Q10

“Exploding pens? We don’t make them anymore.”

Bond is old school. He’s that classic guy in the spy movie with a Walther PPK strapped to his belt. And then this sassy young quartermaster came up telling him that he could do more damage without moving more muscles than Bond does.

What are they doing?
They’re updating Bond to 2012.

This is when Bond and his exploding pens (or exploding whatever) evolved into something new, something that could actually happen in the time when one single person can tear the world apart with a click, in his bedroom, in his pajamas, before his morning coffee. And I like it.

Regarding the fact that I think Silva’s planned arrest and release resembles Moriarty’s, same plans in “The Reichenbach Falls” (BBC Sherlock, season 2 episode 3), the point of transforming Bond movies into the newer and more high-tech mindset is epic.

Many – I’m sorry to have to use this term regarding the franchise – fangirls are telling me that they’re disappointed to see less charming Bond and even less role of Bond Girl, but this post’s topic is “IMHO”, so I’d have to disagree with them.

Craig is an excellent Bond. He made the character more of what he should be in the first place. A spy. Not just this emotionless, perfect killing machine, and most of all not this guy who mixes business with pleasure all the time, but a human.

Aside from the new Q, in Skyfall we also see the end of Judi Dench’s M into Voldemort Ralph Fiennes’s M. And how Moneypenny ended up being his secretary. If those weren’t enough renewal for you, I don’t know what is.

Before ending my opinion post on this movie, let’s talk a bit about its official soundtrack.

The Skyfall theme song is co-written and sung beautifully by one of our favourite English artists nowadays. I intentionally didn’t open the teaser link to the song before I get to watch the movie, because I wanted to hear it first while seeing the legendary opening scene, graphics and all – and you know what? It’s worth the wait.

Adele’s voice is epic. The song is epic. The graphics are epic. Everything is epic to the point that I literally forgot that I’m in the cinema for a few minutes. I just love it. It’s such a great companion to the movie and overall I’m giving all aspects of the whole package 5 stars.

Now you can relax and enjoy the song below.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: IMHO – Skyfall

  1. I haven’t seen it yet but I really enjoyed the Bond from 2008 (whatever it was called), so I do want to see this one. I also loved its theme song, Another Way to Die by Jack White and Alicia Keys. Looking forward to seeing this movie- though my boyfriend does not want to!

Leave a Reply

